Untitled Document


Friday 27th April 2018 

Stock Rods

Yellow graders Ian Thompson and former Saloon Star William Taggart set the pace in the opening heat. The perfect weather conditions helped produce some fast racing throughout the field, but Nutts Corner promoter Thompson finished well clear of the rest to claim his first success of the evening. Raymond Harper made good progress from the back of the grid to secure second, with World Champion Stephen McCready in third. Thompson got his nose in front once again in heat two, but this time the pack managed to hunt the yellow top down. The lead battle got somewhat fraught as the front group jostled behind Thompson, who was eventually spun out of contention which brought out a caution period. McCready was under all sorts of pressure from Harper at the resumption, but never put a wheel wrong to lead home Harper and Kurtis Reid. Both McCready and Harper would earn penalties for their part in the earlier fracas however, which handed the win to Reid, with Nialll McFerran in second.

Once again Thompson was the hare in the final where Jason Clyde made it out on track for the first time after the team had travelled out to their garage in Broughshane and back again to fix an engine problem. How’s that for dedication! Adam Sloan made good strides from the blue grade to mount the first challenge to Thompson’s lead. Sloan tried the outside line, but could not make the move stick and dropped back as Harper, McFerran and McCready joined the party at the front. Thompson continued to hold sway as Harper darted to the outside with one lap to go. Thompson defended for all his worth around that last lap and the pair were still side by side as they exited the final turn. At this point McFerran spotted a gap on the inside of Thompson and got a run on both to make it a three way charge to the chequered flag where the trio crossed the line as one! Unfortunately non of the frontrunners had a working transponder at this stage to help validate the result, so it was all down to the naked eye of the lap scorers, with the verdict going the way of Thompson, with McFerran and Harper classified in second and third. Thompson’s victory also earned the Dundrod driver a Yokohama Tyre bonus, kindly provided by Double Happiness Chinese Takeaway, and extended the sequence of different final winners at Raceway meetings in 2018.

Meanwhile World Champion Stephen McCready travelled across to Cowdenbeath in Scotland the following day to compete at The Racewall, along with compatriots Shea Duff and Andrew Morrow. The challenging Racewall circuit hosts the Stock Rod World Final later this year and the Northern Ireland trio fired a warning shot to their Scottish hosts with some splendid results. McCready charged through from the back of the twenty-seven car entry to claim victory in heat two, before Crumlin based teenager Duff marked his Racewall debut with a stunning final win! Racewall regular James Matson from Glenrothes in Fife was the runner-up in the feature race, with McCready well to the fore again in third.


F2 Stock Cars

Former European Champion Graham Fegan made a first appearance in his new DK built car, but it was his brother Gavin who caught the eye in the heat races with a comfortable brace of victories from the blue grade. The points scored over the entire series determined the stating positions for the final and pitted together Craig McConnell and Bradley McKinstry on the front row of the grid, with Thomas Greer and Gavin Fegan on row two. McConnell had been subdued in the earlier heat races, but quickly edged out a small advantage at the start of the final. McKinstry and Fegan chased hard throughout, but McConnell managed to keep them both at a safe distance with some very consistent laps to claim a well judged success which earned him a brand new exhaust system courtesy of series sponsor Simpson Race Exhausts. McKinstry had to settle for second on this occasion, with Gavin Fegan in third ahead of his brother Graham, Greer and Sean McFerran.


Group Two Lightning Rods

Heat one developed into a family feud between David and Paul Nesbitt and it was Paul who claimed the bragging rights in this one to lead home his brother David. Adam Graham finished third after an entertaining race long battle with Jason Darragh. Former Irish Champion Clive Wilson stamped his authority on the second heat to record a comfortable win, with David Nesbitt the runner-up once more and Mark Goldie in third. Points Champion George Esler quickly made his way to the front in the final, but had to be on his guard with David Nesbitt, Wilson and Freddie Fleck all tight on the back bumper of the 51 machine. His opponents were ready to pounce on the slightest mistake, but Esler drove a perfect race to ensure the silverware went back to Randalstown! Nesbitt, Fleck and Wilson followed the winner home in tight formation, with the top six rounded out by Richard Purdy and Paul Nesbitt.


Junior Rods

The youngsters contested the opening round of the Wash’N’Dash Gold Roof Series and it was Daniel Robinson who led initially in the opening heat before newcomer Declan Og McFerran slipped ahead to mark his Raceway debut with a maiden victory. Robinson lost a good position when turned out by Cole McFall on the final lap which earned McFall a two place penalty. Ty Richardson and Matthew Drysdale also caught the eye of the steward in this one and the places behind winner McFerran went to Mark Crawford and Jordan Nicholl once all the penalties were applied. Samuel Stewart enjoyed a stint out front in his new Corsa at the start of heat two before a caution period was required with Ty Richardson stranded in a dangerous spot at the exit of turn four. At the resumption Matthew Drysdale stormed through to claim the honours ahead of Jack Morrow and the improving Robinson, with Crawford and McFall penalised for contact in this one. The points scored in the heat races determined the starting positions within each grade for the final. McFerran was back on form in this one and quickly pulled away from the main pack to record his second win of the night. Crawford made great strides from the rear of the pack to claim a hard earned second place finish, with Drysdale in third.


Street Rods

Shannon Morrow steered her Vauxhall Corsa to a handsome win in the heat race with Ronnie Donnell and Philip Porter in second and third. Morrow was out of luck in the final when her car ended up in the wall and out of contention. James Taylor took full advantage of the opportunity to motor ahead and claim his first ever final win at Raceway, with Points Champion Norman Mitchell and Porter in second and third on this occasion.

photo's thanks to DPP

thanks to meeting Sponsors: PA Nesbitt Grass & Machinery Sales & Services

Simpson Race Exhausts, Wash n Dash

& Double Happiness Chinese

click for Official Results (27.04.18)





The information provided on this website is © Ballymena Raceway 2019, unless otherwise stated and may not be reproduced without permission.