Untitled Document


Friday 14th September 2018 

Group Two Lightning Rods 2018 Irish Championship

Paul Nesbitt started on pole position for the BRM Services sponsored Irish Championship having amassed the most points during the 2018 season. Problems on the grid for Nigel Kernohan forced him to withdraw and left a field of nineteen cars for the 20 lap showdown. Nesbitt quickly settled into the front running spot, with fellow front row starter Richard Purdy tucked in behind. David Nesbitt latched onto the back of the leaders as well and this trio gradually began to stretch away from the rest of the pack. Further down the field Freddie Fleck and defending champion David Reynolds both made good headway, but it was Newtownabbey based Nesbitt who continued to control things at the front. As the laps ticked away Nesbitt opened out a handy advantage over his pursuers and executed a faultless drive to add the Irish title to the National Championship which he won at Nutts Corner earlier in the season. Purdy was under increasing pressure from David Nesbitt and Fleck over the closing stages, but steadfastly defended his position to secure the runner-up spot ahead of D. Nesbitt and Fleck. David Reynolds, Clive Wilson, Adam Graham, Joshua McMullan, Daniel Rodgers and George Esler rounded out the top ten finishers in a race where all nineteen starters made it to the finish line, most unusual for the hurly-burly of a Group Two Irish Championship! The new champion received a set of tyres kindly donated by the Nicholl Motorsport team.


The second Group Two race of the evening saw the drivers compete for the Broughshane Car Dismantlers Cup and this one provided plenty of fireworks with big crashes for both Graham and Reynolds. The race was halted early following a spectacular spill for Reynolds, with Rodgers declared the winner ahead of Jonathon Bigger and Rodney Stewart.


F2 Stock Cars 2018 Stadium Championship

Craig McConnell has been the man to beat in the F2 Stock Cars at Raceway in 2018 and the County Down racer underlined that fact once again with a flag to flag win in the Cirrus Plastics sponsored Stadium Championship. McConnell, fresh from a commendable fifth place finish in the World Championship the previous weekend, started from pole position after scoring more points than anyone else at the town track this season with Sam McKay alongside for company on the front row. Immediately McConnell rocketed into the lead with the Fegan brothers, Gavin and Graham, in hot pursuit. McConnell did not offer the pair any encouragement however and maintained a consistently high pace throughout to capture the Stadium Championship for a record fifth time! Gavin Fegan eased home in second with his brother Graham in third, and the siblings were followed home by McKay, Sean McFerran and Ted Holland. Two heat races followed the Stadium Championship and brought an encouraging brace of victories for Portglenone based racer McFerran.


National Hot Rods 2019 Simpson Race Exhausts World Series NI Rd 5

Northern Ireland Champion Adam Hylands bagged a lucrative haul of points with a heat and final double success in Round 5 of the Simpson Race Exhausts World Series NI. The pleasing entry of seventeen contestants included a welcome return to action for Ben McKee. Hylands opened his account with a storming win in the opening heat where conditions were testing for the drivers with the circuit very slippery in places. British Champion John Christie followed Hylands home, with Davy McKay a solid third in his Vauxhall Tigra. Heat two provided a popular win for Broughshane’s Jaimie McCurdy, with Hylands well to the fore again in second and Keith Martin in third. Those impressive heat results earned Hylands pole position for the final and the County Armagh racer drove away from the pack to register his second win of the night with a dominant performance. McCurdy made a great start from row three to rocket into second place which he maintained to the flag despite pressure over the closing stages from Glenn Bell and Christie.

Stock Rods 2018 Challenge Cup

Former British Champion Steven McKane did not get beyond practice on his track return which left sixteen cars to contest the Challenge Cup event. Ballymoney’s Alistair Christie led for a long way in the opening heat until a late race caution period saw his advantage vanish. At the resumption Steve Gooch squeezed through to grab the win ahead of Aaron Moody and Adam Sloan. Liam Irwin and Sam McKinstry both enjoyed spells out front in heat two, but the man on a mission was Moody. The Ballymena battler steered his Citroen to the front on lap 11 and set the fastest lap time of the race along the way to take the chequered flag ahead of Sloan and Kurtis Reid. The Challenge Cup final was initially led away by Christie once again, with Clyde quickly into second position by lap 6. Christie continued to hold sway, but Clyde began to apply the pressure and eventually swopped ahead on lap 12 with a tidy pass around the outside. The new leader had to keep the hammer down however as Moody was on the march once again, and Clyde stroked it home sweetly to take the silverware with a fast finishing Moody in second, followed by McKinstry, Gooch, Jack Kennedy and Niall McFerran. The tyre bonus for the final winner was generously provided by Declan McFerran of DMAC.


Street Rods 2018 Irish Masters Trophy

Warren Thompson’s winning streak was finally ended when Shannon Morrow secured the Irish Masters Trophy. Impressive newcomer Thompson had reeled off six wins on the trot and extended that record to eight wins from eight after another brace of victories in the heat races! Come final time it was Kevin McGeown who set the pace while Thompson struggled to find a way around James Taylor. The pair eventually clashed in the closing laps which knocked them both out of the running as McGeown slipped home ahead of Morrow and Norman Mitchell. There was further drama however as McGeown was penalised for contact with another competitor earlier in the race, which handed the win to Morrow, with Mitchell classified in second and McGeown relegated to third by the race steward.

thanks to meeting Sponsors:

Simpson Race Exhausts, BRM Services, Cirrus Plastics,

Broughshane Car Dismantlers, DMAC & Nicholl Motorsport

click for Official Results (14/09/18)





The information provided on this website is © Ballymena Raceway 2019, unless otherwise stated and may not be reproduced without permission.